Always take the high road in Christ

24 Aug

No, “if your enemies are hungry, feed them; if they are thirsty, give them something to drink; for by doing this you will heap burning coals on their heads.” Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good. (Romans 12:20-21; see also Proverbs 25:21-22)

Close, personal relationships can be difficult, especially during times of transition and change…  I know that when I am feeling out of balance – over-tired, stressed out, out of my element in a new environment and vocation – I am less likely to take the high road…  but even so I know it is important to practice walking with Christ in all times, easy and tough…  I look at the Christian life as a posture that is learned through practice…  although it does feel good to get that last word in during an argument, or sarcastic comment, those comments are hardly ever helpful… but I am learning…  I have be diligent in my practice in taking the high road…  this means either my contributing or restraining myself in order to move forward in a positive direction.  When I was a conflict resolution facilitator for Ramsey County, MN, two of our mottos were “Do no further harm,” and, “We only have control over our own behavior.”  We are called to be peace, love, compassion, and forgiveness in the world…  we do our best, and pray to God to help us when we find ourselves at the limits of our ability.

When in doubt, pray… trust in God… trust in the power of the Holy Spirit to change our hearts, to change the hearts of others…  when in doubt love and forgive…  strive to see Christ in others… especially in our enemies.

Leave a Reply

