Curate Reflections – The First Two Weeks

2 Aug

Greetings in Christ!

As I write this I am entering into the third week of my curacy, and I have hit the ground running! I have presided and preached with both faith communities, including a Saturday evening service and a Wednesday healing service at St. Luke’s.  I have been a regular attendee of the Wednesday bible study/book group at St. Luke’s, and the Wednesday evening (free and open to all) community dinner at St. Peter’s.  In the spirit of ecumenism I have begun to develop relationships with local pastors in the Kasson/Mantorville area, and with folks in the wider community there.  I am also part of a rotation to provide services for Prairie Meadows Senior Home, Kasson, and to write articles for the Dodge County Independent (I will be in this week’s paper!).  Additionally within the past couple weeks I have attended various meetings, including my weekly meeting with Father Doug, a St. Luke’s Finance committee meeting, and a St. Peter’s Music Committee meeting.  Coming up this week Father Doug and I will be providing a service for Charter House, and I will be doing a similar service later that day at Prairie Meadows.  I am also paying special attention to our evolving Shared Ministry vision and relationship in everything that I do.

So far so good!  I am enjoying getting to know folks from both faith communities and worshipping with you all, and I am keeping plenty busy.  I am aware that this is a time of transition for all of us, complete with new joys and challenges.  But, these past couple of weeks have greatly affirmed my sense of call to serve in this place, and I know God has good things in store for us.  It is an honor and a blessing to serve with you all.

In faith and thanksgiving,

Colin+

Leave a Reply

